What is Erasmus


Erasmus of Rotterdam, a famous 16th century humanist and restless traveler, inspired the name of the program launched in June 1987.
The basic idea of the project is to educate the new generations to the idea of belonging to a wider community than the national one and offer the possibility of socialization and comparison between different cultures.
Participants are also offered positive prospects for the future: in fact, a study conducted by the Statistical Observatory of the University of Bologna shows that former Erasmus students take less time to find their first job after graduation.
The Erasmus+ program

The Erasmus+ program, the new program for education, training, youth and sport, which integrates the 7 previous programs, came into force on 1 January 2014: Lifelong Learning Program (Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Comenius and Grundtvig) , Youth in Action, Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Alfa, Edulink, ICI.
The Erasmus+ Program 2014-2020 is managed by the European Commission, DG Education and Culture, in cooperation with the Member States (the 28 States of the European Union, the EFTA/EEA countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, the candidate countries for to the EU: Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) with the assistance of the Executive Agency for Education, Audiovisual and Culture and the National Agencies of the different participating countries.
Erasmus+ Individual mobility for study purposes
The Erasmus+ program is the new European program that promotes "Individual mobility for learning" (Key Action 1).
Erasmus+ offers students the opportunity to study and/or receive training at a European University participating in the Program, for up to 12 months within each study cycle (Bachelor's, Master's and PhD/specialization schools). The experience can be achieved regardless of the type of mobility (study or internship) and the number of mobility periods (for example, 2 periods of 6 months or 3 periods of 4 months) without additional registration costs, obtaining recognition of the training activity carried out.
The specific details on the requirements to benefit from an Erasmus+ study mobility will be indicated in the announcement which, for the communication area of the Faculty of Political Science, Sociology, Communication, the Coris Department usually publishes around the end of January of each academic year.
Erasmus+ Individual mobility for traineeship purposes
With the new Erasmus+ program, it is possible to apply as undergraduates and then carry out the internship experience within one year of graduation (to be calculated over the total 12 months of the cycle). Students interested in the latter opportunity will have to participate in the future Erasmus+ call for traineeships which will be published on the Sapienza International Area page.



© Università degli Studi di Roma "La Sapienza" - Piazzale Aldo Moro 5, 00185 Roma